Road Closures - Updated Schedule

RR120 between TR360 and TR362 will be CLOSED for temporary construction Sept 17 8:00 am - Sept 19 4:30 pm 

RR121 NORTH of TR381 to TR383A will be CLOSED for bridge construction from Sept 19 - Oct 16 (dates are tentative)

TR370 EAST of HWY 36 to RR135 will be CLOSED for bridge construction from Oct 16-30 (dates are tentative)

Please follow the Detour signs

Inter Pipeline Project - Throne to Halkirk (Viking Connector)

Crews have been working in the area making the approaches into fields, prepping for road crossings, and preparing the ROW for pipeline installation.

Currently construction crews have started work south of HWY 12 on RR142 and will continue working westward along the route south of Halkirk. Within the coming weeks they will also commence work between the existing Inter Pipeline Throne station east of Coronation and HWY 36.  Currently there is a 100 person crew on the project and it is anticipated that during heavy periods of construction the crew size will reach approximately 250, resulting in increased traffic along the pipeline route shown in the map below.  

If you have an alternative route to reach a HWY or travel into town, please consider them, as it will make for safer roads for our residents and the temporary construction workers. Construction crews comply with posted speed limits and will follow a self-imposed speed limit of 30 km where the construction zone intersects with county roads. We request that residents always respect the work zones, slow down and observe safe driving.

Farmers - Please check out your intended travel routes in advance when moving field machinery and equipment. Select the best and safest route possible to avoid meeting or crossing through working construction equipment.

Hunters – Various waterfowl and bow hunting seasons are soon upon us, please be ultra careful and respectful of your downrange setups and shooting areas.

The County and Inter Pipeline would like this project completed without any safety incidents and to minimize impacts to the local residents.   Thanks!



The Tax Deadline of June 30 has past and a 5% penalty has been applied to all outstanding property tax accounts.

The next deadline is September 30th.

An additional 10% penalty will be applied to all outstanding property tax accounts October 1.

We offer many convenient payment options:

Credit Card
Direct Deposit

Fire Restriction Lifted

The County of Paintearth has lifted Fire Restriction, effective June 24, 2019. Fire permits will be issued at the County Office between 9:00 am and 4:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Fires are allowed in:

"Acceptable Burn Barrel" means an outdoor receptacle that meets the following specifications:

  1. a minimum of 3 (three) meters clearance measured from the nearest edge of the Burn Barrel to a building, property lines, or other combustible material;
  2. equipped with an expanded metal spark arrest or mesh screen with openings no larger than 16mm (0.6inches), secured in place with a latch or; constructed of non-combustible material;
  3. not located over underground utility services or under aboveground wires;
  4. is supervised at all times by a responsible person until such time that the fire in the Burn Barrel has been extinguished. A fire shall be deemed to include hat ashes and smoldering embers resulting from the fire; and
  5. is used to burn non-prohibited debris.

"Fire Pit" means a non-combustible structure or container located on public or private property, used for recreation purposes and constructed in accordance with this Bylaw:

  1. a fire pit shall be constructed with non-combustible materials,
  2. the maximum external dimension of the Fire Pit shall not be greater than one meter,
  3. a fire pit shall be covered by a substantial screen or grate with openings not to exceed 16mm (0.6inches) in any dimension,
  4. a fire pit shall not be located closer than 3 meters (10feet) from a property line and two meters from any combustible material, including, but not limited to buildings, structures, fences, patio decks and foliage as measured from the nearest fire pit edge.
  5. a fire pit shall not be located less than 0.6meters (2feet) laterally from an underground utility line.

"Incinerator Fire" means a fire that is confined within a non-combustible container or barrel with opening; covered with a heavy gauge metal screen having a mesh size not larger than 13 millimeters and which is ventilated in such a manner as to preclude the escape of combustible materials, including ash.

The County of Paintearth is urging residents to be fire safe and ensure that all fires are always supervised and under control. Burning is ONLY to be done with extreme care and caution. Be aware that weather will determine if the County of Paintearth proceeds to a total fire ban.

Michael Simpson, CAO
County of Paintearth No. 18

2% Liquid Strychnine

The County has obtained more 2% liquid strychnine concentrate and it is available for purchase through the ASB. This product will continue to be sold until quantities run out. 

Product will be sold in 250mL bottles of concentrate at a cost of $10.50 each. One bottle will treat 1kg of grain (e.g. a 5 gallon or 12kg pail would require 12 bottles). A minimum order of 6, 250mL bottles is re-quired to a maximum of 72 (there are 24 bottles/case).
PRE-ORDERS WILL NOT BE TAKEN. Pickup at the County shop will be Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:30am-12:00pm, at which time pay-ment will be collected (please bring a cheque). Feel free to call ahead to Trevor at (403)740-9182 for availability.
When picking up product, please come prepared with the following

  • Mailing address of purchaser
  • Telephone number of purchaser
  • Home quarter LLD
  • LLD(s) where product will be used
  • Type of field(s) to be treated (crop, forage, or pasture)
  • Approximate infested area of each field type
  • Approximate farm size

If you are picking up product for more than one landowner, please bring the above mentioned information for all landowners.
For more information , please contact Trevor at (403)740-9182.